HOME   CALENDAR OF EVENTS    AD RATES   33133 STORE   PARKING MAP

grapevine-restaurant-head

Daily updates on what's up in Coconut Grove and beyond including Brickell, Coral Gables and Midtown Miami

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Getting funding for more police patrols

Thanks to the large turnout at last week's City Commission meeting, the City Commission has directed the City Manager to locate $9 million in the coming year's budget to increase the city's police force by 100 officers without having to raise the millage rate.

The City is said to be understaffed with only 2.6 officers per 1000 residents, most large cities have 4 officers per 1000 residents.

The vote is Thursday, September 26 at the meeting at City Hall (3500 Pan American Drive), which starts at 5:05 pm.

A large turnout is being requested by neighbors to show support. Three out of five votes is needed. 

Here is the contact info if you would like to make your voice heard before Thursday's meeting:

Mayor Regalado: 305-250-5300 | tregalado@miamigov.com

Commissioner Carollo: 305-250-5380 | fcarollo@miamigov.com

Commissioner Suarez: 305-250-5420 | fsuarez@miamigov.com

Commissioner Sarnoff: 305-250-5333 | msarnoff@miamigov.com

Commissioner Spence-Jones: 305-250-5390 | mspence-jones@miamigov.com

Commissioner Gort: 305-250-5430 | wgort@miamigov.com

City Manager Alfonso:  305-250-5400 | djalfonso@miamigov.com

FEEL FREE TO SHARE THIS STORY ON YOUR SOCIAL NETWORKS
For linking to this one story, just click on the time it was posted & just this story will open for sharing!

2 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

Will any of the $9 million be allocated to increasing the wages of the current police force as they asked or just hiring more officers?

September 18, 2013 3:04 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Please hire qualified people with real education and brains.

September 18, 2013 4:16 PM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home